Word Count Contest

Spur of the moment contest announcement!

Just for the geeky writer fun of it I decided to add up all of the words I’ve published. Okay, it sounds useless, but someone told me that in a writer’s career they eventually make about one dollar a word. That hasn’t happened yet, but a writer can dream.

I asked my friend, Brian Kern, to take a guess. He paused and then suggested I let everyone take a guess, and the person that guesses closest wins.

Okay folks, so here’s a way to win a complete set of the books I’ve published through iUniverse.

  • Just Keep Pedaling
  • Twelve Months at Barclay Lake
  • Twelve Months at Lake Valhalla
  • Twelve Months at Merritt Lake
  • Dream. Invest. Live.

My iUniverse titles
Guess closest to my estimate as of today (even my count has some assumptions built it) and you get the full set of five for free. (Total retail value $89.75.) Ties will be settled by random selection.

The total is based on the total word count in those five books:

  • Just Keep Pedaling
  • Twelve Months at Barclay Lake
  • Twelve Months at Lake Valhalla
  • Twelve Months at Merritt Lake
  • Dream. Invest. Live.

Plus the new book:

  • Walking Thinking Drinking Across Scotland

(All six of which are available on amazon.)
Plus three of my blogs (~ 400 posts total)

The winner is to be announced Wednesday, December 19th, in time for the books to become gifts.

Send your guess (one per person) to tetrimbath@whidbey.com

About Tom Trimbath

consultant / entrepreneur / writer / photographer / speaker / aerospace engineer / semi-semi-retired More info at: http://trimbathcreative.wordpress.com/about/ and at my amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B0035XVXAA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Word Count Contest

  1. And the winner is – Jonathan Evelegh, who guessed 900,279. My count was 928,881. Without a spreadsheet even I would’ve come in third. I was sure it was over a million by now. Ah, but Jonathan is an experienced editor. He lives in California. Is it too late to suggest that the winner has to pick up the books at my house?

    Even at 928,881 words, I’ll be happy to make a dollar per word. That is the rule of thumb, which of course brings to mind the question of whose thumb was used. At a dollar per word, I’d really like to use some of the other guesses that would make me a multi-millionaire. Hey, it can happen.

    I hope you all enjoy my writing. Thanks for playing along.

Leave a Reply

